Skip to content

Mac notch apps compared

We make Top Notch, so read this as the maker's view. We've tried to be fair: prices and requirements come from each vendor's own page where we could reach it, and the table says “reported” where we couldn't.

Checked

Which one fits you

You want it from the Mac App Store, sandboxed, with no account and refunds handled by Apple
Top Notch. It's the only app in this table sold there.
You want YouTube in the notch, with a floating window you can keep on top
Top Notch.
You want a file shelf or AirDrop in the notch
NotchNook, Boring Notch, DynamicLake Pro or Droppy. Top Notch doesn't have one.
You want new volume and brightness pop-ups
Alcove, MediaMate or Boring Notch. The Mac App Store sandbox doesn't allow Top Notch to replace them.
You want free and open source
Boring Notch or Atoll.
You want to try before you pay
Alcove (72 hours) or Droppy (3 days). Top Notch has no trial; Apple handles refund requests.

Side by side

  • Top Notch

    Price
    $9.99 once
    Where
    Mac App Store (sandboxed)
    macOS
    14 or later
    Intel Macs
    Yes
    Known for
    Music and lyrics, YouTube in the notch and a floating window, weather, focus timer, calendar, clipboard history
  • NotchNook

    Price
    Reported $25 once or $3 a month
    Where
    Direct download
    macOS
    Reported 14.6 or later
    Intel Macs
    Not stated
    Known for
    File tray, AirDrop, Shortcuts, calendar, camera mirror
  • Alcove

    Price
    $14.99 once
    Where
    Direct download, 72-hour trial
    macOS
    Reported 15 or later
    Intel Macs
    Not stated
    Known for
    Now playing, volume and brightness HUDs, Live Activities, Lock Screen widgets
  • Boring Notch

    Price
    Free, open source (GPL-3.0)
    Where
    GitHub
    macOS
    Not stated
    Intel Macs
    Yes (universal build)
    Known for
    Now playing, visualizer, file tray, AirDrop, HUDs, calendar
  • DynamicLake Pro

    Price
    From $13.99, pay what you want
    Where
    Direct download (Gumroad)
    macOS
    14 or later
    Intel Macs
    Yes
    Known for
    Notifications, file shelf, AirDrop, calls, timer, weather, app switcher
  • Droppy

    Price
    Reported $9.99 once, 3-day trial
    Where
    Direct download
    macOS
    14 or later
    Intel Macs
    Yes
    Known for
    File shelf, clipboard history, lyrics, Up Next queue, extensions
  • MediaMate

    Price
    Reported about €7 once
    Where
    Direct download
    macOS
    13 or later
    Intel Macs
    Yes
    Known for
    Replaces the volume, brightness and keyboard HUDs, plus now playing
  • Atoll

    Price
    Free, open source (GPL-3.0)
    Where
    GitHub, Homebrew
    macOS
    Reported 14 or later
    Intel Macs
    Reported no (needs Apple silicon and a notch)
    Known for
    System stats, clipboard, timers, camera mirror

“Reported” means a third-party source, because the vendor's page was unreachable or silent on September 23, 2026. Spot something out of date? Email contact@startupstartup.app.

Why the App Store part matters

Every other app in this table is a direct download. That's fine, but the App Store changes a few things: Apple reviews the app, it runs in the sandbox, and it updates through the App Store. You don't manage a license key. Refunds go through Apple rather than the developer's inbox.

The sandbox also limits what Top Notch can reach. It asks for permission to control Music and Spotify, and for your calendar if you use the calendar. It never asks for Accessibility, Screen Recording, the camera or the microphone. The same limits are why it can't replace system pop-ups or add global shortcuts.

Looking for a NotchNook alternative?

If you like NotchNook's idea and would rather pay once through the App Store, Top Notch covers music and calendar, along with YouTube, weather, a focus timer and clipboard history. It doesn't have NotchNook's file tray, AirDrop or camera mirror. If those are why you use NotchNook, stay with it, or look at Boring Notch or Droppy.

See what each Top Notch panel looks like, or read the FAQ.

$9.99 once · macOS 14 or later · Apple silicon or Intel